What's new
What's new

Initialize a VFD thats been unused??

Metalurgent

Cast Iron
I'm retrofitting a Tree Journeyman that's been out of action for a few years. I reset the Yaskawa CIMR vfd to factory presets and got the spindle motor running at the default settings.
The motor made some noises that I assumed were bearing problems so I pulled the motor and have new bearings on the way.
I came across a warning that a drive needs to be reconditioned if it has sat unused for a while ( quotes below..). I'm new to this stuff so that recommendation seems odd to me. It this a generally accepted practice??

"VFD can sit unused and without power for a short time without service. If a VFD has been stored for longer durations, the dc bus capacitors must be reconditioned. The electrolyte inside the bus capacitors changes state when unused for long periods. Reconditioning requires running the drive with no motor leads connected for at least 8 hours before trying to run the drive under load. Repowering the drive under no load brings the electrolytic charge back to a proper charged state."

If the vfd powered up on mains voltage, don't fret. The magic smoke is still in there.

I might have put the unit on a variac and stepped up the voltage from 30V to 100V over a couple of hours, just to gently rouse the electrons in the capacitors.

But it sounds like that has been taken care of without troubles... Unless you "motor sounds" are VFD driven....... hmmm.

It's 3-phase input, I don't have anything that could ramp up input voltages, with or without the motor connected. In any case, is the "8 hours with no load.." a regular precaution?

I'm retrofitting a Tree Journeyman that's been out of action for a few years. I reset the Yaskawa CIMR vfd to factory presets and got the spindle motor running at the default settings.

Not an expert, but what you might be hearing is the VFD carrier frequency, which can be loud at default settings.