What's new
What's new

Miller SR-150-32 3-Phase to 1-Phase Conversion

bsbrum

Plastic
I am new here, the name is Brian.

I am just beginning down the path of this project, converting my Miller SR-150-32 from 3-Phase to 1-Phase using the Haas-Kamp Conversion.

Based on the excellent past posts by David Kamp, and his assistance with my particular machine, I am going to undertake this project.

I will post as I go, and try to make this serial in nature, so that it will be easy to find the installments. Hopefully at the end I can link them all back into this original post, and make it even easier.

David Kamp's fantastic, inspirational work is here.

History

I bought this welder, wanting a TIG machine, not knowing much of anything about it. The price was right and it came with a full 120CF Argon tank, so why not? Or so I thought. The seller was either dishonest, which I don't think he was, or he was just as naive as I was, because when I tested the machine at his place (running off 220VAC 1-phase), it was enemic and I just didn't know any better.

The machine was in good shape, and it has a lot of great features that only come on >$1000 welders, and since I only paid $350 for the whole package, the size was the only real down-side.

The SR-150-32 has high-frequency start, gas in and out timers, and the the remote foot pedal. The other options were not installed on this particular machine; spot weld timer, and Volt and Amperage guages.

I had to rehab the HF start, but it didn't take much work, and the thing seemed to run great - as the fan, timer, and HF start all run off 2 legs of the 3-phase input source, it ran fine wired to 220vac 1-phase.

I ended up spending some good money on a new Lincoln PowerMig 210MP with the TIG setup, and that has become my welder of choice, so I am really wanting to sell this Miller - but NO ONE has 3-phase power, so this is really a vehicle for me to make the machine usable and attractive for a cheap price.

Challenges