What's new
What's new

Motor Contactor for Rotary Convertor/5 HP lathe

rhoward

Hot Rolled
Getting ready to fire up my Monarch 14C lathe equipped with a 5HP 3 phase motor. As I said the motor is 5HP, 208-230-460 volts, 14.2-12.6-6.3 amps respectively SF 1.15 and RPM 3485 if that matters. I will be running it with 2 phase 220 volt(?) line power going through a 10HP rotary phase converter. The lathe now has the original circa 1942 vintage motor contactor on it which is an ancient looking General Electric unit. See attached pic.

Far as I can see this GE unit is just a contactor and not an overload device. So I was wondering what I should consider using instead? Years ago I studied motor contactors that contained heating elements that provided overload protection but I have pretty much forgotten all that stuff. Not even sure if that technology is even used now. I want protection for current overload at the motor so was wondering what sort of device could provide both a motor contactor and overload protection for the 5 HP motor? Thanks.

Randy

Attachments

• IMG_2656.jpg
    IMG_2656.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 528
Getting ready to fire up my Monarch 14C lathe equipped with a 5HP 3 phase motor. As I said the motor is 5HP, 208-230-460 volts, 14.2-12.6-6.3 amps respectively SF 1.15 and RPM 3485 if that matters. I will be running it with 2 phase 220 volt(?) line power going through a 10HP rotary phase converter. The lathe now has the original circa 1942 vintage motor contactor on it which is an ancient looking General Electric unit. See attached pic.