What's new
What's new

Is my setup right? 1.5HP 3ph 220V Motor. 120V VFD Input

FullMe7alJacke7

Plastic
Hello, I'm new around here as I have been searching high and low for information about this and it seems difficult to find accurate information out there.

I recently bought a 10 5/8" squirrel cage blower with directly attached 1.5HP motor. I have been reading more into it and I believe to power my motor correctly I would need a VFD to convert the power coming in from single phase 120V to 3 phase 220V.

I'm new to electrical and motors so if someone could let me know if I'm on the right track or not that would be great!

(Also, I know it's supposed to be 1 question per thread but if someone could slip in the HOW a VFD can step-up up 120V to 240V that would be cool as well)

1ph 120V Input to VFD 3 ph 240V to motor?
Motor Plate
Motor Specs.jpg
60 Htz
1.5 HP 1750 RPM
3ph
208 - 230 / 460 V
4.8-4.8/2.4 FL Amps
5.2/2.6 SE Amps

Thank you!

the vfd has a voltage doubling rectifier on the front end.

for less than 300$ you could just buy a single phase 120/240v motor.

also, the power factor of a vfd is rather horrible. you will need a 30 amp 120v circuit to drive it, and the cost and time of getting that is probably less than the cost and time of wiring a 230 volt circuit and buying a regular vfd.

you can take your chances trying to run it on a 20 amp circuit breaker but you will likely need to choke the fan down to lower the load, or run the motor at a lower frequency (fans have a cubic power curve)

then again if the motor only needs to deliver 1 hp, then a 15 amp circuit will theoretically do it.

Hello, I'm new around here as I have been searching high and low for information about this and it seems difficult to find accurate information out there.