What's new
What's new

Need Wiring Help PLEASE!

dezil

Plastic
Hello everyone, I am new here and not an electrician, but I have basic knowledge. I have a south bend lathe that I swapped the table and it came with a nicer motor that what I had previously, but now i cant get it wired properly.

Here is what I know:

The motor says "craftsman" but it was made by Emerson in the 60's....Here is a photo of the plate that's on it.IMG_20150117_184841_091-1.jpg

Here is a wiring diagram that I found online, it looks EXACTLY like what I have on the motor.IMG_20150118_103001_188.jpg

Here are some photo's of the switch. I know it is a furnas drum switch.IMG_20150118_190017_002.jpgIMG_20150119_121225_138.jpgIMG_20150119_121231_364.jpg

There is a capacitor on the motor that says its for 110v ( I am trying to wire it for 220v).

If you look at the photos the drum switch has 7 lugs or terminals, every diagram I have seen ( except for the one on the inside of the cover ) shows these switches with 6 lugs not 7......I cant figure out of I need to change the capacitor, some people say yes, others say it doesnt matter.

I am getting very frustrated, can someone please help me out....

Single Phase Drum Switch Connections

Dezil,

I suggest you have a look here, explains what your trying to accomplish, lot of good info already on this forum, suggest you learn how to search it.
This one is from the south bend section, which is where you came from.
http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/south-bend-lathes/wiring-issues-pictures-296475/#post2449633

Your drum switch is only slightly different than most but you already have the connection diagram for it, in the cover. The one that applies to your application is the split phase diagram, in the upper right.
Furnace 7 term drum switch.jpg

Forget the diagrams that you posted in your earlier thread here.
http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/south-bend-lathes/wiring-help-please-297598/#post2465693