What's new
What's new

New shop electrical service

MotoX

Cast Iron
I'm going to build a new shop soon at the house. Local utility company says i can have my choice of any electrical service up to 400 amps at no charge(I'm right next to the pole).
I'm leaning towards 208v 3phase. The building will be approx 2250 sqft.

If you were building a shop and could have any service you wanted, what would you choose and why?

Current equipment is
  • 240v Knee mill
  • 240/480v 22x120 gap bed lathe
  • single phase 240v 13x36 lathe
  • 240v single phase IGBT multiprocess welder (tig,stick, plasma)

Once the building is up, i will add a turning center, a small surface grinder and a VMC.

I'm trying to avoid any regrets, but also save some money if i can. The electrical equipment can get pricey in the 480v range, which i doubt can be justified in wire size difference in such a small building. But i'm no electrician.

So overall what will be the best choice for economy considering cost of equipment(transformers, breakers, disconnects etc..)?

i would like to hear any opinions you may have.

Also im wondering how i could power a single phase 240v welder with three phase? I would assume just using two legs of the 3phase, but I'm unsure.
I was taught that single phase is 180* out of phase and 3 is 120* out. I'm not sure if this matters or not.

All your 240 vac equipment will run just fine on 208. It's actually the voltage I prefer, as there is no hi leg to worry about. You can just use one leg of it to power up 110 vac stuff. Try to keep the loads balanced a little bit if you can. ( don't run all your 110 off just 1 leg)

All your 240 vac equipment will run just fine on 208.