What's new
What's new

OT- capacity of distribution panel

crossthread

Titanium
Good morning. This may be a stupid question but I am not an electrician and I have a question about an electrical panel. The panel I am dealing with is rated at 100 amp. It has a 100 amp "main" breaker. When I add up the breakers installed in the box, they equal way more then 100 amps. There are two sixty amp breakers (220v) and a handful of twenty amp breakers installed. Is this thing overloaded? The main never trips. Thanks.

No, it's not overloaded. If you try to pull more than a combined 100A, the main breaker will trip.

Good morning. This may be a stupid question but I am not an electrician and I have a question about an electrical panel. The panel I am dealing with is rated at 100 amp. It has a 100 amp "main" breaker. When I add up the breakers installed in the box, they equal way more then 100 amps. There are two sixty amp breakers (220v) and a handful of twenty amp breakers installed. Is this thing overloaded? The main never trips. Thanks.

If the main doesn't trip then it is not overloaded. Each breaker protects that branch of the circuit and the main protects the line feeding the panel. Almost all populated panels will have cumulative breaker capacity far exceeding the main breaker.

Without quoting code, the 100 amp main breaker is to protect the buss work in the box. The individual breakers protect the wiring connected to that breaker. The sum total of all the individual breakers could far exceed the capacity of the cabinet, but the sum total of all the individual currents cannot exceed the rating of the cabinet.

Tom

Most loads are not continuous they are intermitant. A 50 amp outlet for a stick welder is allowed to be run with 40 amp wire since half the time is spent switching to a new rod, chipping slag etc. The NEC figures plenty of time off to allow the wire to cool. If it is a mig welder you have to use the correct size wire.
Bill D