What's new
What's new

Overload tripping on rotary converter

Overland

Stainless
Well I've spend a significant amount of time and money building a rotary converter, and I've got issues I'm not understanding.
I'm an engineer, but not electrical.

3-phase-power-converter.jpg

This is the Jim Hanrahan design I got from the sticky here.

Brand new 20 hp Baldor 3450 rpm motor.
WEG 50 amp contactors CWB50-11-30D15
WEG overload RW67-5D3-U057.
50 amp breaker in my single phase distribution panel.

1st problem:
The idler would run for a about 5 mins, on its own, with no other equipment being run from the system. The overload would then trip. It was initially set at 45 amps.
I then turned up the overload to 50 amps, and ran the system again with no external load. The idler ran for about 20 mins, then the overload tripped.
My clip-on ammeter is not working, so I can't measure the current in the legs, but I'm not getting why the overload would trip with no external loads (no other machines connected).

2nd problem/concern that I don't understand.
When running, I'm finding the following voltages:

Leg 1 to ground 122 volts.
Leg 2 to ground 121 volts.
Leg 3 to ground 236 volts - this is the generated leg.

Leg 1 to leg 2 243 volts
Leg 2 to leg 3 270 volts
Leg 1 to leg 3 254 volts.

Does it make sense that the generated leg to ground would be 236 volts ?

I'm using the following capacitance:
Start caps between T1 & T3 = 1200 mFD.
Run caps between L1 & T3, also L2 & T3 =270 mFD.

I've checked my circuits very closely with the diagram and don't see anything wrong.

So, why is the overload tripping with no external load on the system ?
And is it correct to have 236 volts on the generated leg to ground ?

Thanks for any guidance.
Bob.

IEC (European) motor overloads trip on sustained current imbalance; where one phase is carrying significantly more or less than the others.

This obviously doesn't work for rotary converters.