What's new
What's new

Phase converter for dual motor surface grinder

toadboy65

Plastic
This is probably a dumb question, but I am no expert on electric systems.
I have a new to me Boyar Schultz 2A618 surface grinder. It has a 1hp spindle motor, and a 1/2hp hydraulic motor. I have a shop full of 3 phase machines, running off of various VFDs, but have not considered whether I can use another on the surface grinder, as both motors run at the same time.
Any advice?

T

This is probably a dumb question, but I am no expert on electric systems.
I have a new to me Boyar Schultz 2A618 surface grinder. It has a 1hp spindle motor, and a 1/2hp hydraulic motor. I have a shop full of 3 phase machines, running off of various VFDs, but have not considered whether I can use another on the surface grinder, as both motors run at the same time.
Any advice?

T

If you are already "married" to VFD's, just buy two more.

"A shop full of... 3-P", and NOT also "full of simultaneous operators" ... WAS the ideal use for an RPC. Or maybe even a Phase-Perfect.

Too late now? Noo.. WHEN the VFD's start crapping out, have damaged an older motor or two, need new caps or the odd dv/dt filter?

You get a second chance!

:D

More seriously, ONE new VFD, and ONE new single-phase juice pump.

They are cheap and cheerful, 1xx, 2xx VAC 1-P .. or strappable for either.

Plug that puppy into your ordinary outlets. Sort whatever you need for switch or relay.

Last edited:
I pretty much run one machine at a time. It is not like I am in love with VFDs. 3 phase power is not an option due to location, and I built the shop with smaller tools in mind, but with lots of space.
Then I started accumulating larger tools. First was a 16x40 lathe, and I ended up getting an expensive(for me) Hitachi VFD. But the tools keep coming. Good tools for scrap prices or less. It is not like I am following a plan, where I might have been able to predict my usage and prepare for it.