What's new
What's new

Recommended options to power Tree 310 3hp CNC mill at home.

Jason312

Plastic
Hi folks. First let me state that my electrical knowledge is nill.
I was a machinist for about 5 years but that was over 16 years ago. I ran a Tree 425 then and really liked it. I've always wanted to get back into machining.

I am looking to purchase a Tree 310 for around $3K to put in my Garage. They claim everything works perfectly and the machine is very reliable. They have added an AC Pro Drive and collet closer.
The current owner operates it on 480v but stated it could be rewired to work on 220v. All I would need is a phase converter.
However, they have installed an AC Pro Drive on the spindle which is 480v and I don't think it can just be rewired.

This leaves me thinking my only option is a 220v to 480v transformer and a rotary phase converter. Is this correct?

I've watched videos on building a RPH and priced ones from American Rotary. They recommend their AD7 for a 3hp CNC which is $926. Do I really need this special CNC rated phase converter? It sounds like I could build one for a LOT cheaper BUT I'm worried about the electronics and don't want to turn this into a boat anchor.
Do I need a special transformer or will any 220v to 480v work?
I'm sure this has been covered but the more I read the more confused I get.

Thanks for your help.

They have added an AC Pro Drive and collet closer.

So just what is the AC Pro Drive? A VFD for the spindle motor, or a motherboard in the control?

If it is a VFD, is the varidrive still intact and working? If the varisrive still works, I would use it, and remove the VFD.
VFD's are quite inexpensive these days. You can use a 5HP unit in many cases and run it on single phase, just make sure that the phase loss can be disabled with parameters.

Bill

Thanks for the reply.