What's new
What's new

Replacing the FWD/REV switch in my 1988 Hafco lathe: Wiring ..... HELP!

OzzyGreg

Plastic
Hi guys,

Totally a silly mistake I know, but I got distracted while using the automatic feed on my lathe and the apron's partially crushed the existing FWD/REV switch. I have to replace it.

The wiring has me very confused. The closest switch to the original one I could find isn't exactly the same.

I'm not good with wiring diagrams and if I could work out what each wire is for I might be half way there at least.

FWD-REV switch 1.jpg
FWD-REV switch 2.jpg
FWD-REV switch 3.jpg
FWD-REV switch 4.jpg

Attachments

• Hafco wiring 2.jpg
    Hafco wiring 2.jpg
    11.2 KB · Views: 227
Last edited:
Hafco-wiring-2.jpg

The previous owner had an extra on/off switch installed (not sure why). He drew the extra diagram on the page.
Hafco-wiring-1.jpg

Extra lines drawn in by someone else .....

KEDU ZH-HC-3  Schematic.jpg

Attachments

• Hafco-wiring-2.jpg
    Hafco-wiring-2.jpg
    74 KB · Views: 337
  • Hafco-wiring-1.jpg
    Hafco-wiring-1.jpg
    48.4 KB · Views: 152
Looking closely. The wire marked S will go to S and same for R. The wire marked U will go to U and V will go to V. The wire marked 1 will go to the 5 terminal and 6 is left with nothing in it. If the forward/reverse aren't in the positions you want on the switch simply reverse the wires between U and V terminals.

Sent from my SM-G973W using Tapatalk

Looking closely. The wire marked S will go to S and same for R. The wire marked U will go to U and V will go to V. The wire marked 1 will go to the 5 terminal and 6 is left with nothing in it. If the forward/reverse aren't in the positions you want on the switch simply reverse the wires between U and V terminals.

Thanks PTSCummins!
Much appreciated!

Just one question PTSCummins:

The yellow wire? It must be an earth wire I guess.
Where does that one go?