What's new
What's new

Rotary Phase Converter issue

BrianB

Hot Rolled
I have a 240V 30hp rated Desco phase converter with a 30hp Baldor Motor. I have been using it for probably 10 years to run the 15hp motor in My Monarch lathe and have not had any issues. When i installed it I checked voltages and they were like 244, 246,244 and I thought that was great. I recently got a mill that supposedly has a 20hp motor in it. The mill has hydraulic pumps so it doesn't start the motor with no load like on my lathe where the motor is declutched. The mill starts and runs, but upon startup it gives the idler motor fits, it starts buzzing and jumping around in the floor for about 5 seconds until the mill comes up to speed then it is fine. When it is running and I check the voltages they are still well balanced. I tried starting the lathe first to add its 15hp motor into the mix but it didn't seem to help any. Do I need to add more caps for starting? Would that help? Can I add to many starting caps? I need to get someone to help me so I can see the voltages on the phases at startup as of now I can't hit the start button and be close enough to see the voltages on the meter as it is on the other side of the mill from the start button.
Thanks
Brian

Brian, you were not clear if the voltages for the RPC output were at load or not. RPCs can not maintain those voltages throughout the load range. Usually they end up with higher voltages at idle because they drop fast when loaded. Off the cuff, I would say A-C/B-C should be 250v so they do not dip too low when loaded.

That being said, you have a bigger converter to help with that issue. It IS normal for a converter to wig a bit with load but dancing all over the floor for several seconds seems odd. I recommend voltage testing while loading to find out what is happening. You may be able to add significant changes with a little cap tuning to get start performance in line.