What's new
What's new

Rotary phase converter problem : video attached

rule308x

Plastic
Hello,
My 15 hp rotary phase converter, which has been working fine for months, is having a problem. I don't have the schematic and did not build the unit and am looking for help diagnosing and fixing the problem. It is wired to a 220v 60 amp breaker and has been powering a 6.75 hp nardini lathe. When it is switched on the idler motor comes up to speed quickly and quietly and stays running. When a load is applied (lathe turned on) the contactor sputters and arcs (see video).

I'm not an electrician but I can use a multimeter. I've pictured the box and the major components below. I can provide more pics and information if that will clarify.
uc

uc

uc

I would be grateful for any help diagnosing the problem or suggestions for fixing the problem. I'd be willing to replace the automatic components with manual switches if necessary.

Thanks,
Jeff

Sounds and looks like the load from the lathe is pulling the coil voltage down to the point the contactor is "chattering". Try moving the coil to a different connection, or try operating it independently of the rpc. A third thing to try is to manually close the contactor by pushing on the moveable contact carrier in the middle with a insulated tool.

Tom

Thanks Sir.
I'll try to manually close the contact tomorrow and report back. I'm afraid I don't understand what moving the coil to a different connection means...I think it's operated by the relay to the right of it. Could I just install a switch and power it from a separate breaker? I know it's basically a magnet that pulls down a bar that closes three connections, right? Might the magnet not be strong enough to hold the contacts down? Thanks again for the insight.
I'm hoping its something easy and cheap to fix and not a problem with the lathe motor.
I'll let you know what happens manually closing the contacts as soon as I try it.

Jeff