What's new
What's new

Single phase to 3 phase for novice. Help!

toplever

Plastic
After searching the net and forums I'm more confused then ever. Can you recommend a forum post or website? My situation, I'm moving to a shop with no 3 phase power. 220 single phase is available. I've a 3 phase surface grinder (2hp) and a 3 phase CNC bed mill (5 hp).
I have no idea what would be the best solution for me to power the machines. An electrician is recommending a phase shifter from Amazon for each machine. Somebody told me they might damage the CNC computer. I really don't know what the easiest and best solution for me is. I can't find even good beginner information on what a VFD is.
A friend of mine has a rotary face converter and it is unbelievable noisy, so I don't think that's what I want. I'm a total novice with this and hardly know anything about electricity. So if there are some good sites or posts that are educational, or links to products, I'd be most grateful for links and recommendations.
Thank you so much!

Without an Amazon link its hard to make a judgement on what your electrician is recommending, no experience, but I hear the chinese ones are garbage. If cost is of no concern, the Phase Perfect is best. Next would be a VFD, you will need one for each machine, look at them on Automation Direct, might be some reading literature there too, VFD = Variable Frequency Drive. A VFD has to be wired direct to motor, bypassing all stock electrical controls. The low cost option is a Rotary Phase Converter, downside is noise, the upside is there are no sensitive electronics or boards to fry. Plans for a diy rpc can be found here, Fitch-Williams design is what I would use, supposedly if built with an 1800rpm motor they are quieter.

Expect other opinions.

No particular reason for an RPC (Rotary Phase Converter) to be any noisier than other motors.

They do tend to be made from cheap old motors, so maybe folks don't change the bad bearings, I dunno.