What's new
What's new

Sizing a start capacitor for a cabonator motor

BlazingSalads

Plastic
Fist things first; I am a carpenter. Motors and machining are not my forte. I am posting on here looking for some advice with a specific problem.
I am part of a crew of folks that run a food booth at an annual festival in Oregon. Our booth site does not have AC power and we aren't allowed to run a generator. Normally this isn't a problem. We use ice (lots) for refrigeration. We use 12V to pump water and power lights, etc.
One of the items we sell is soda. For years we force carbonated each keg using CO2; rocking each keg until it was saturated. I/we have dreamed of making this less labor intensive. We would like to power a carbonator pump reliably with a battery bank and an inverter. We have tried this in the past and been frustrated. Attached are pics of the pump unit we are using and a close up of the motor spec label. The motor is listed at 6.5amps when running, but at startup it has to overcome the resistance in the pump which causes the amperage draw to spike momentarily to approx. 18V as observed on our inverter's display. I believe its this spike that has has wiped our battery bank out in the past.
Is there a way to improve this circuit with the addition of a start capacitor? If so how do we select the right start cap, and how do we integrate it into the circuit? Any advice would be really appreciated.
To be overly clear- We can round up large batteries. We have even used big 8D marine batteries in the past without reliable success. We do not presently have a way to charge these batteries at our booth. I would love to have some PV that would trickle charge our battery bank, but that is another project. Would a start capacitor help make this system operate, or is this a case of "no free lunch"?
Cheers and Thanks,
Joel

McCann's_BigMac.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_6536.jpg
    IMG_6536.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 125