What's new
What's new

Slower speed selection

newbee21

Plastic
Hello to anyone whom can help with a question of how to slow a metal lathe down from its slowest registered speed of 105 to 50 or even to 70. I am trying to learn how to do threading at lower speed than my lathes slowest speed. please understand that i am just learning at my spare time. So i have no previous experience at this option or if there are options.
Thanks in advance to anyone.

Often one can go on the inter net and find a lathe manual.
A belt machine the bigger pulley turning a smaller pulley.
Some times a pull pin is pulled...and a gear you swing in.
often you may need to hand turn the chuck to makes gears fall into place and to know nothing is locked up from a wrong gear selection..some machines you can break a gear if the machine is gear locked.

some times you can go on youtube and see someone using the same lathe.

Thread in reverse, you won't have to slow down. Turn the tool upside down, reverse the thread screw, and stat from the chuck side threading towards the tailstock.

thread relief can only be 1/4" between ACME type and the next different type of thread and again to the next different thread all between centers. thank you for the suggestion though. Just trying to slow down speed of machine.

QT: [to do threading at lower speed than my lathes slowest speed.] The lathe can only go so slow with the motor going at a certain speed and the gears and/or belts transferring that to the spindle.

Reducing the motor actual speed or with a smaller motor pulley would reduce the spindle speed but continue to produce the chosen thread.

Perhaps you have a 3600, 1750 or 1160 rpm motor. you can see by percentage how much slower the lathe might turn with a slower motor.

With a variable speed motor the thread would be still correct, but the lathe would go as slow as you select.