What's new
What's new

transformer / rotary phase converter questions

rb1

Cast Iron
Hi,

I have gathered almost all the bits to power up my new to me CNC. Since last we spoke, I have ordered a 30HP rotary phase converter, and a 240 to 400V transformer.

This machine was powered up in a shop that had 208 three phase, so as covered in a previous post, the transformer it came with would not suit my needs. However, the transformer was still wired up when t was delivered to me, and I was going to use the wiring from the old and transfer to the new transformer.

I studied the configuration of the old transformer, and compared it to the wiring schematic on that machine. Yes, this is the old transformer I am asking a question about.... but I need to wrap my head around why that is different from the schematic, or just what I am overlooking here.

My question first is about the connection at "X0".

The secondary voltage clearly shows X0 is to be connected on the 400Y/231 side, but from the way this was wired, it was on the 208 side.

In the picture I am going to attach to this post, coming in from the left has to be the 208 side, as the right side leads are marked "to machine".

As far as I know, this machine was under power and the transformer did not look tampered with.

I am resizing the pictures to post here right away, then I am going to be away from the computer the rest of today, so I will not be able to respond until tomorrow,

thanks very much!

picture of 208-400Y/231 transformer showing connection at X0 from the 208 side.

Attachments

• 208 trans wiring rs.jpg
    208 trans wiring rs.jpg
    65.6 KB · Views: 34,578
picture of schematic on 208 to 400Y/231 transformer

Attachments

• 208-400Y transformer schematic.jpg
    208-400Y transformer schematic.jpg
    67.2 KB · Views: 8,287