What's new
What's new

VFD with a 2 speed NECO Dahlander motor

Pawcu

Plastic
Help needed please: VFD for a 2 speed NECO Dahlander motor

Hello everyone. New member here.
I know it's already been asked around here about putting a VFD with a dahlander motor however I think I've hit somewhat of a wall in my case. Let me start off by saying that I am not an electrician and although I do thinker a bit, 3 Phase power is still relatively new to me. I've read a bit about 3 phase motors and I think I have a general idea of a delta and wye configuration motors.
So I've recently come across a bridgeport series J milling machine for a steal of a price (atleast I think it is :D). Unfortunately I only have single phase 230V power in my garage and the milling machine runs off 3 phase power. In my country (Malta) we have 230V phase to neutral and 400V phase to phase on 3 phase power. I've been looking at single phase to 3 phase VFDs and RPC however I have a couple of issues:
1) I believe I have a dahlander motor with 380/440v (cannot seem to find any vfd which outputs 440V from 230V single phase - closest one I found is this one: vfd 2.2kw 1.5kw 0.75kw 220v single phase input 380v 3 phase output AC Frequency Inverter AC drives /frequency converter Nf|Inverters & Converters| - AliExpress). Reason I'm thinking this is a dahlander motor is because it has 2 speeds forward and 2 speeds reverse. IMG-20210708-WA0001.jpg I'm not sure how exactly its working right now especially since as I mentioned our voltage is 400V phase to phase (milling is still at my friends garage) but I do know there is a control box on the side which houses a transformer and a bunch of contactors so I believe those have something to do with it.