What's new
What's new

VFD explain it like I’m 5...total noob.

evl

Plastic
Hello, first post, a little lost. I have a new-to-me Siber Hegner RB1. I’ve read and watched a lot of VFD related stuff on the web and I thought I’d just post what I have and ask a simple question.

I have 220 single phase available. Purchased a Hitachi and random EBAY brand VFDs for 3hp 3 phase. My motor is 3hp.

The motor is wired into a back panel that feed several controls and switches. Question: I can I simply wire the VFD to the 4 wires coming out of the panel? I’m reading yes and no. Mostly mentioning VFD wires direct motor. I have a second 3 phase control motor only 1.5hp I think, but 3 phase. Is that a 2nd VFD? I’m hoping photos show below.

57EBE5B1-BABB-49A5-94DB-13C08C6A56FA.jpg732E00B5-C207-4C52-8832-00318EFA6E74.jpg732E00B5-C207-4C52-8832-00318EFA6E74.jpg95CD75C7-914F-4040-AD20-43C654383E6D.jpgE4793277-7F69-41F3-B801-784483B1F221.jpg32B066EB-D4AC-49BD-9D2A-DAA313D2BEF5.jpg

Hi Evil...

So... without knowing what that 'panel' contains, or how it's wired, I'm going with the 'safe' answer:

Wire the motor directly to the VFD.

The panel probably controls the motor using across-the-line starting with contactors, and provides protection using motor overload features. The VFD handles all this as part of it's programming and synthesis.

You will want to control the power to your VFDs with contactors. The 'standard' technique is to have a main contactor that uses a 'START' pushbutton, and a 'STOP' pushbutton, where when you press the START button, the contactor pulls in, and once in, an auxiliary contact of the contactor causes the contactor coil to stay powered after the START button is released. The STOP button has a normally closed contact wired in series with the aforementioned auxiliary contact, pressing it opens the 'hold' circuit, causing the contactor to drop out.