What's new
What's new

VFD Wiring a 2 Speed Mill

LIFTED

Plastic
Hello,

I am working on powering up my 3-phase milling machine.
It has a 2 speed motor, [delta/YY].
It has a step-pulley head, so the majority of speed changes will be done by switching the belt.

How should the motor be connected to the VFD?
Should the motor be connected to high speed or low speed?

I don't want to lose the torque in back gear for drilling/tapping.

This will be my first 3-phase machine, I am new to this, and any advice is appreciated.

If it's rated at the same HP for both speeds (close to the same current in both is a good clue) then it'll make more torque in the low-speed connection (double-ish what it does in high), if the VFD can run to double the usual 50 or 60 Hz then you should have the same speed range, using 50/60 to run the low speed range, 100/120 for high speed.

It IS possible to run it with both speeds and the original speed switchgear, BUT you won't be able to switch under power and you may need a VFD with multiple motor configurations (particularly for auto-tune VFDs) if the motor current and other parameters are substantially different - look for a VFD with two or more "parameter sets" and work out a way to signal the VFD that you've changed between them (usually you can use one of the low-voltage control inputs for this). It would be a good idea to add an interlock to the speed switch to signal the VFD to cut its output while switching if there's any chance that the speed switch could get flipped under power - look for a "gate block" function and how to signal it, which will do this?

Whether you retain the 2-speed switchgear or not, if you're tapping and want a fast stop-and-reverse it's a Very Good Idea to add braking resistors for very rapid stops and reverses, and you'll need to do some trial-and-error with braking settings...

Dave H. (the other one)

100% on what Dave (the other one) says.