What's new
What's new

Wanting to build a Generator set-Need some advise

fyzxman

Plastic
I am a bit of a scientist and have been looking into filling my lab/shop with some equipment and powering the equipment. This message is about powering the shop/lab. Right now my shop/lab is empty but will have some equipment that will need some clean 120/220VAC (single phase 25 to 30 A), some lighting/appliance (120/220 VAC 20A), a 48 VDC 10A max power outlet, and three-phase AC to power a MIG/TIG welder (up to 3/8" steel), A Lincoln welder (like a K1297 size), A Vertical Mill (something like a Bridgeport series 1) and A Lathe (something like a Hardinge HLV-H) (228/240 VAC? Greater than 58 A, but less than 80 A). I will need to run the mill and lathe with CNC capability. My approach so far was to locate a 100KW military generator set but that has not been easy nor successful. So I thought perhaps I could build one to meet my needs. I thought first I could get a wrecked Dodge Ram Truck with a Cummins 6.1 L diesel engine. To control the RPMs I would use a digital module from RPMControl (RPMControl.com). To cool off the engine I would need a larger radiator and larger fan. I could use some input here. Where would I locate a generator head? Some equipment that need clean current are oscilloscopes, precision power supplies, motion control, etc. I heard that there are isolation transformers but does anyone know if there are some low-cost ways to do this for a 30 A circuit? Oh, before I forget, I would like to make this generator set work also as an emergency back-up for my home nearby my shop/lab. Does anyone know where I can find parts to build the switching system, the power transfer box, and the way to separate out the breaker box for the two purposes (emergency back-up and the daily 100 A service Shop/Lab)? I know the RPMControl modules can remotely start an engine so this aspect of the problem is partly solved with that module. Perhaps the module just needs to have a current s