Wiring home shop for 3-phase power. Would love all the input I could get - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

For the Hardinge I would build a rotary phase converter, see appropriate section of forum. I did this with my Hardinge HLV-H which has a number of small 3 phase motors. Used a cheap 2hp 208V 3 phase motor, single phase motor starter, starting cap and time delay relay. Hit start button and TD relay drops out starting cap after one second. Using 208V equipment on 240V input has not caused me any issues.

For 600V, on my Bridgeport I used a 3KVA step up transformer, 240V in and 600V out. These are commonly used as step down transformers for lighting applications in shops so many electricians have used ones around cheap. Fed resulting 600V single phase into a VFD and achieved very good results.

I have been running the above set-up for over 10 years. Only issue is the old VFD failed due to condensation as the boards and components were not properly coated. Fixed it about 6 times, last time multiple little problems combined to make it junk. Newer one installed and all is good.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by DIYShopTools View Post
    I guess it's about time to start really researching how to build a rotary phase converter. And I've got so many single phase motors that I've been able to pickup for next to nothing - or in some cases, literally nothing, that I'll be happy to have found a use for one as the starter motor for the phase converter
    Quote Originally Posted by neilho View Post
    Using the rope-around-the-shaft method would get you started making chips. (Remembering to wind the rope around the shaft the same way every time is the most difficult thing about that setup.)