What's new
What's new

Y start Delta run starter wiring

Able Trade

Plastic
Im hoping someone here is savvy with old machine starters. I picked up this old 1986 Supermax Engine Lathe LG-1440 at an auction. It was kind of a rough ride getting it back to my shop so Im not surprised something is wrong. I have some experience with old machine wiring but never seen this before and its got me confused. Its got a Y start (wye start, star start)delta run configuration. If im understanding correctly then of the 3 magnetic contactors the left one is the main contactor, middle is the delta run, and the right one is the Y start? Whats happening is when I push the on button the middle contactor engages and it turns on but wont hold on. Shouldnt the right one be the first one to engage? Also kind of strange, when if I hit the main contactor manually it will spin in reverse. I used a meter and am getting full voltage on all 3 legs and All the E stops are working. Any ideas? Also if anyone knows where to find any manuals or wiring diagrams for it that would be a big help.
IMG_2316.jpg
IMG_2318.jpg
IMG_2331.jpg
IMG_2332.jpg
IMG_2333.jpg

if it is running backwards, reverse two of your legs. Also if on a convertor, don't use the generated leg on the control circuit.

Looking at the wiring, I dont think that is a star/delta starter. The main contactor on the left is one direction and the centre contactor swops the phase rotation ,so that would be a reverse. The wiring on the contactor on the right will be to do with the e stop and no volt release. Possiblt the coolant pump, cant really tell from the photos.
As no704 said,try swapping 2 of your phases over to see if you have the control circuit on a generated leg. If the small contactor on the right is not closing when you have power on you will need to check the control circuit as there may be a problem with a stuck e stop or a saftey switch not working correctly.
Have you checked the small fuse next to the large 3 fuses?