What's new
What's new

#5 turret lathe

David@NOV

Plastic
We have an old #5 and its developed a problem that we cant figure out. The chuck barley turns, its slow moving at a turtles pace. Nothing we try will speed it up. Looking for suggestions on trouble shooting.

Follow the power from the motor, where does it go? Is the motor coming up to speed? I imagine it probably has a clutch and its slipping, or something to that order.

The spindle is run via two pairs of clutch packs, concentric discs very much like those in an automatic transmission. It's entirely possible those clutches have worn to the point they no longer engage well.

Other options (keeping in mind I'm no expert and have only owned one of these things for a couple of months) I wonder of the brake is somehow stuck "on"? The brake is hydraulic, and engaged via headstock oil pressure on a piston assembly at the back. I have not opened or worked on mine, but I wonder if by some combination of wear or abuse, the brake has been engaged, maybe partway, and won't release?

If that's the case, and it's a long shot, I admit, I have no real idea how to resolve the situation.

More info would help. Does the chuck run the same speed no matter what gear it's in? Does it turn so slowly you can stop it by taking a cut?

Doc.

Follow the power from the motor, where does it go? Is the motor coming up to speed? I imagine it probably has a clutch and its slipping, or something to that order.

-Another option: Again, not even close to any kind of expert, but if the machine has a 2-speed motor (and I have no idea how many of them do) is it possible one of the magnetic starters has gone bad, or otherwise lost an electrical connection, so the motor is only running on partial power?

Just spitballin', but hopefully something to point you guys in the right direction.

Doc.