What's new
What's new

chance to get a W & S 1.A turret lathe for $900

451johnny

Plastic
hi everybody I used to be a machinist some 35 years ago and now that im retired I want to turn my two car ( detached ) garage into a small machine shop for a hobby and also to make a couple of bucks on the side and I have the chance to buy a Warner & Swasey 1A turret lathe in good running condition for $900..would this lathe be an over kill for a small shop like mine ?? I know I have to run a 3 phase line which is no problem and Im also getting some tooling with it..?? johnny

Does not sound like 6000 lbs of PRODUCTION lathe with "some" tooling is going to be much fun. These things REQUIRED great piles of tooling. Get yourself their book on tooling aptly titled TOOLS - it will give you an idea of where you are headed if you go this route.

Such machines were intended to make lots of the same part - not much handiness or versatility

hi everybody I used to be a machinist some 35 years ago and now that im retired I want to turn my two car ( detached ) garage into a small machine shop for a hobby and also to make a couple of bucks on the side and I have the chance to buy a Warner & Swasey 1A turret lathe in good running condition for $900..would this lathe be an over kill for a small shop like mine ?? I know I have to run a 3 phase line which is no problem and Im also getting some tooling with it..?? johnny

Good running 1A as starter machine ....I like it

I think it depends on your level of comittment to the shop project , and the general direction you want to go
as well as how much $$ you want to spend. I would dearly love to have a 1A especially if it was a 3" bore ...they made also 2.5 hole.