What's new
What's new

Information on W&S No 2 M-1330

gavingear

Aluminum
Moving to W&S alumni forum.

Won this W&S no 2 lathe (m-1330) on an auction today, and would be most grateful for any info on it! (I pick it up on Friday). I am totally new to turret lathes! (have several engine lathes.

Specifically:
- Horsepower
- Spindle info - through spindle capacity and chuck mount type (threaded, cam lock, etc - comes with 3-jaw chuck)
- Approx year built - Serial is 532307 - looks like lot 685? (see photo)
- Info about collet system - power draw? Taper and collet type?
- Approx weight
- Anyone have a user's manual? (I found a parts manual, could really use a user's manual!!!!)

Thanks!

8161599_0.jpg

8161600_0.jpg

8161601_0.jpg

8161602_8.jpg

8161603_0.jpg

You wont find a users manual,just mounting plan,wiring hookup,and a schedule of capacities.......best to get one of the Colvin and Stanley books....often found in new condition on ebay for a few $+post.....The machine looks 40s/50s......wartime is very likely.....watch out picking the machine up by the tray with a forklift.....the trays arent meant to take upward load,and the mounting points may break,or you may bend the tray up in the middle.Block the tray against the bed with timbers at the tyne points.

Thanks- picked up the lathe yesterday, and am it turns out that I have the service and parts manual that came with the lathe! Is there no such thing as an owner's manual for this lathe that describes all of the features and functions, etc?

Also- how can I find out the date of manufacture? Serial is 532307, and lot is 68 (thought it was 685, but the "5" wasn't a digit, looks like a small logo).

Any information would be most appreciated!