What's new
What's new

New guy bought a No.4 (M-1420) - How'd I do?

ChriS2000

Aluminum
Hey guys,

I'm a mechanic setting up my personal shop, and I stumbled upon a W&S no.4 with tooling and a phase converter for $300. It belonged to an older couple's son that recently passed away, so they don't know much about it but she said that he bought it from a machine shop and it was in good working order.

There was stuff scattered around the barn but I was able to locate a bucket of tooling and cutters, a box of collets, a bar feeder(?) buried in a snow bank :D and what looks like a brand new phase converter.

I wasn't able to locate any jaw chucks, and I noticed that there wasn't much oil in the sight glass. Anyway did I do good for $300 for all this stuff? I know next to nothing about lathes or how to operate them, but I'd be using this thing for fabrication of random stuff in small quantities. Mostly forming, tapering, and facing aluminum and steel.

thumbnail_20191117_154004.jpg
thumbnail_20191117_154014.jpg
thumbnail_20191117_154024.jpg
thumbnail_20191117_154040.jpg
thumbnail_20191117_154153.jpg

I'd say the price is good to excellent. However, a turret lathe is a special lathe used to make lots of the same thing over and over. Not a good general purpose lathe. Not sure if you can thread with it. With a jaw chuck you can do turning, facing and drilling.

Tom

I'd say the price is good to excellent. However, a turret lathe is a special lathe used to make lots of the same thing over and over. Not a good general purpose lathe. Not sure if you can thread with it. With a jaw chuck you can do turning, facing and drilling.

Tom

Hey Tom.