What's new

W & S No. 5 Motor Drive VIBRATION & SMOKE

saidnamedPOG

Plastic
We have a Warner & Swasey No. 5

Model M-2250
Lot 14
Ser. R1572288

Our Motor started vibrating pretty bad and getting extremely hot (after only a few minutes of running), At one point the motor actually started to smoke and the operator was forced to shut it down to let it cool. (But we're currently still using the machine)

I checked the motor shaft coupling and it looks fine with almost no wear. I feel like it could just be bad bearing in the motor.

I was wondering if this was a bearing problem could I service it myself by dis-assembling the motor? Or is that something that would have to be done by the manufacturer or service company?

I am responsible for maintenance for the entire facility and I am not an expert on everything (just yet :P)

Any, help or direction would be great. ThanksIMAG0150.jpgIMAG0151.jpgIMAG0149_1.jpg

POG,
Personally I'd pull the motor and send it to a motor repair shop.. Let them sort things out. Learn from them..
Hope this helps
Stay safe
Calvin