UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Washington
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by gustafson View Post
    Over the years I have heard that they are 'good saws'

I have often wondered, why not a regular EM brake? Why destructive?
    The issue is time. I'm no engineer, but the time to slow down the blade needs to be fairly fast (SawStop reportedly claims to keep the contact to 1-2 teeth of the saw when using a 10" saw). A non-destructive braking system would likely need to be so big/industrial that it would price it out of the prosumer market. But that's one man's opinion.

If I ever got a table saw (which I don't think I ever will), I would absolutely buy the saw stop because the cost of the cartridge and saw blades are much much much cheaper than the cost of loosing a finger/thumb. I would think of it as insurance.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I had a hand injury this summer... I would pay far more than the price of a cartridge and blade to not go through that. The ordeal cost me $6000 out of pocket (I had insurance) and one of my fingers doesn't even work correctly. Penny wise bitching about a sub $200 cost over serious injury.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by kustomizingkid View Post
    I had a hand injury this summer... I would pay far more than the price of a cartridge and blade to not go through that. The ordeal cost me $6000 out of pocket (I had insurance) and one of my fingers doesn't even work correctly. Penny wise bitching about a sub $200 cost over serious injury.
    Seconded. I damn near took the tip off one finger with a bandsaw, clipped the nerve, and it never will work right again. A few hundred for a cart and blade? Chump change, and glad to pay it.

I've used them in school situations, as well as the original Tech-Shop in Menlo Park. (the big original cabinet saw)