What's new
What's new

Converting Widebelt sander to work with metal

TheoA

Plastic
So...I purchased a 37" widebelt sander for the purpose of sanding down the plasma dross and graining the material. I've been doing this by hand for 5 years now and I really have to have a way to speed up the process. I jumped a bit before looking and might be in a pickle.

I purchased the machine off ebay, asked the questions I should have, was lied to, and received a wood working machine :(
I'm told that a metal machine will have the contact roller turning the same direction as the convener, whereas a wood machine will be opposite ?
I'm also told that I need a rubber contact roller, but I have a steel one :(.

Questions for your wood working guys....have you ever run a piece of metal through your wood working machine? Did it have the desired effect? Any issues?

I'm thinking replacing my metal drum with a rubber one will be the first step. Reversing the rotation would be easy...but I'm guessing the belt tracking wouldn't work correctly after that? What about just reversing the conveyor to run backwards....then the roller would be going the correct way and the dust collector would be in the right spot...as well as the tracking would work too. ?

-Theo