What's new
What's new

Finish recommendations for Sapele in exterior setting

Kyle Smith

Stainless
I made a tree swing seat 8.5” x 28” x 2” using Sapele. I’m an amateur woodworker and do not have much experience finishing. Digging around the interwebs I think I need to seal the wood, use an oil finish, then a urethane. Jon Peters used Teak Oil on an outdoor table and it turned out well. I’m going to try and buy quart sizes as gallons would be a lifetime supply. I want the most durable finish I can afford, it will be exposed to rain, snow, and UV. The location and size will make it easily available to refinish in the future.

Follow Up:

I used CrabCoat exterior marine finish using the manufacturer's recommendations. Application was straight forward, a foam brush to apply 6 coats, sanding between

coats 2 and 3 with 320 grit sandpaper. We will see how it holds up, please wait for next follow up in 3 years.:D

attachment.php

attachment.php

My recommendation is to put a coat on every six months. If you wait a year it will need sanding all the varnish off then applying several coats. A single coat every six months will last. The tree will help shield it from UV but I don't think there is a clear wood finish that does not need regular maintenance in outdoor applications.

Once I started to use Tung Oil I stopped searching for "the finish". Homer Formby is something I used and is not too bad.
I also bought Tung Oil in a bottle and mixed it in combination with other things, like the way Sam Maloof explains in his book.

How is the chair swing holding up

Follow Up:

I used CrabCoat exterior marine finish using the manufacturer's recommendations. Application was straight forward, a foam brush to apply 6 coats, sanding between

coats 2 and 3 with 320 grit sandpaper. We will see how it holds up, please wait for next follow up in 3 years.:D

attachment.php

attachment.php