What's new
What's new

glue advice please.

stoneaxe

Stainless
We are laminating a bunch of sapele staves 1/2" x 3" x 8' into 1 1/2" thick stiles.

I have been using titebond 1 with good success, but the short open time means a lot of hustle when gluing three or four assembles at a time.
The titebond 3 says it has a longer open time, but also a longer clamp time- plus it is new to me, and often new products do not live up to the hype.

any advice?

Titebond Extend gives you more assembly time, about twice as long. I use it for laminating banjo rims. If you need a lot more time, you could try a urea formaldehyde glue, like Plastic Resin Glue, but the setting time is much longer, and they usually require 70 degree temp room. I have no experience with TB3.

Most people are not aware that some time ago Franklin changed the names of their retail line of Titebond glues, they are not the same as the industrial products in 5 and 55 gal drums. I spoke to one of their chemists to clear this up.

"Original TB" is actually Hi-Tack Assembly glue, a high solids, fast setting glue, with good gap filling properties.
"TB Extend" is Regular Titebond
"TB 2 & 3" are Multibond variants, catalyzed PVA glues often used in hot presses.

Not that this matters to anyone who has not used the industrial product, but it was sure interesting to me once I stopped buying 5 gallon pails.

Titebond Extend gives you more assembly time, about twice as long. I use it for laminating banjo rims. If you need a lot more time, you could try a urea formaldehyde glue, like Plastic Resin Glue, but the setting time is much longer, and they usually require 70 degree temp room. I have no experience with TB3.

Most people are not aware that some time ago Franklin changed the names of their retail line of Titebond glues, they are not the same as the industrial products in 5 and 55 gal drums. I spoke to one of their chemists to clear this up.