Opinions on planer, horizontal boring machine, is it worth picking up?
Close
Login to Your Account
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Posts
    92
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    6

    Default Opinions on planer, horizontal boring machine, is it worth picking up?

    I have a friend that has a Rayco horizontal boring machine, and a old Craftsman 112 planer from the 50's. He does not want them around (doesn't use them) and wants to let them go for cheap. Are these worth picking up? I have zero use for the horizontal boring machine, I was hoping I could flip it to make back the money for the planer. Any opinions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    North Carolina
    Posts
    342
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    465
    Likes (Received)
    125

    Default

    The planer is a Parks so it is a good one.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Camarillo Ca
    Posts
    422
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    20
    Likes (Received)
    98

    Default

    A horizontal boring machine is a tough sell. I know because I have one I want to sell.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Se Ma USA
    Posts
    1,375
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    779

    Default

    Horz borer is only good for a few things to a few people. If you can design to make use of it, you will like it. Most woodworking pilgrims have no clue.

  5. Likes Dave D liked this post
  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Posts
    4,576
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    83
    Likes (Received)
    812

    Default

    Advise:

    A horizontal boring machine is what I use when making cabinet doors with splines. As long as the splines fit tight, the joint is almost as good as a tenon.
    This is the joint between the rails and stiles. With some raised panel router bits you are not allowed long tenons on the rails. I would look at the boring
    machine. The planer is something I would look at too.

    Opinion:
    If you flip the boring machine then divide the profit and give your friend half. That is friendship.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Alabama
    Posts
    43
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    5

    Default

    A horizontal boring machine is a tough sell. I know because I have one I want to sell.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Se Ma USA
    Posts
    1,375
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    779

    Default

    Horz borer is not well understood to most woodworking pilgrims. But worth its weight in......Kobi Beef to someone who needs one. I have one buried in my shop somewhere. Last used it 15 years ago? Shortly after getting it I went to CNC type machines that were like Swiss Army Knives to woodworking. Did everything. But super good and quick at everything.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
2