What's new
What's new

Pigmented shellac

Just in case anyone with the information, did not see my request in the Gehry chair post. :)

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/v...slat-chairs-any-experience-284904/index2.html

I am curious if anyone knows of a source for pigmented shellac. Not just dye stain. I have plenty of experience with that. But actual opaque, paint-like shellac in colors other than the white stain killer. I need a kind of a dark Forrest or Hunter green.

Has anyone had experience with such a finish, or contrived one?

Thanks!
smt

Just in case anyone with the information, did not see my request in the Gehry chair post. :)

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/v...slat-chairs-any-experience-284904/index2.html

I am curious if anyone knows of a source for pigmented shellac. Not just dye stain. I have plenty of experience with that. But actual opaque, paint-like shellac in colors other than the white stain killer. I need a kind of a dark Forrest or Hunter green.

Has anyone had experience with such a finish, or contrived one?

Thanks!
smt
go to a woodcraft store. they usually have pigments and dyes for adding to stuff. i would of course try it on a scrap piece of wood first as color dry might be different than when it is still wet.
Find a Woodcraft Store Near You - Woodcraft.com

DMF TomB suggested Woodcraft. Here's a a link to one of their related sites with an article about tinting shellacs. I found the information about mixing glycol-based colorants with shellac to be particularly interesting.

WoodCentral Articles & Reviews

Possibly more experimentation required than you wish for this particular project, however.

~TW~

Sure, and easy for some colors. I've been using lampblack and shellac to make a fine deep, silky black for thirty plus years for wood finishing. I learned this from my family's iron work pattern shop department. They also used a deep dark red; these were the two common colors.