What's new
What's new

Professional Advice First Machine

Houdini

Titanium
Professional Advice First CNC Router

Hello, First post to Wood threads.
I am a Machinist but have a couple people asking me about CNC Routers.
I dont know anything about the brands or capabilities.
When I look to suggest a Newbie machine that is capable of turning into a full business for say cabinets, all I see from my experience is starting prices of $35-50K
Im used to ball screws, liner ways, large speed/torque motors, with my experience I couldn't recommend a machine with rack and pinion, Windows based Control software, and stepper motors.

I know someone who has a DMS Patriot, Starting price at $36k, I see balls screws, liner rails, and a tool changer,and industrial control. But thats a expensive start.

One guy likes the Laguna machines, but I dont know the drive brands, and their most expensive still has rack and pinion, but at a even higher starting price than the Patriot, I see Fanuc controllers.(but rack and pinion?)

Can some one give me a direction to point someone in for a machine that could possibly do cabinet work at low production, 1 man show.

If it was a "Vertical Machining Center" and not a router, I would tell them a Used Haas, least expensive actual full production machine.

Thanks
CHEERS!

Last edited:
Wow, nothing, The wood threads suck.

Because we have nothing to do but check here all day to see if anyone posts anything new.

I have 2 routers both with ball screws servos and linear bearings. One is the Patriot the other is a machine with a windows based controller. I bought the one with the Windows based controller first and did get some Data starving issues when I first started using it but with better CAM software and dialling in some of the parameters it works well.