What's new
What's new

recommendations wanted for noise attenuating ear protection

powerglider

Stainless
My father retired 2 years ago and is into small word sculpting now as a hobby.

He uses some power tools (grinder mainly) to help with the initial removal of material but works within a club and in a room where other noisy power tools are often on.

He bought a pair of ear defenders at a local hardware store (he's in Montreal btw).

I've got some experience in recommending ear protection for my own main activity which is flying noisy ultralight aircraft. In that environment a gel seal is often chosen so that it stays soft in colder flying weather (a lot of ultralight aircraft are open cockpit and my particular one has no cockpit so temperature is a factor in the choices).

I've always liked to use Peltor brand like this one:

3M Peltor H10A Optime 105 Earmuff - Amazon.com

in my own shop but wonder now if others have experience with various brands or particular model that really helps reduce the noise level. My father mentioned he wanted to reduce the noise of the planer and various routers operating in that common room.

I'm going to have a real tough time getting him to try to put anything in his ears. I'll suggest those to him but failing that for the headset type are the ones I'm using (Peltor) are the ones he's used to.

Have to admit I've tried the in the in the ear ones many times and never got them to feel right. How long do you need to use them to have them feel comfortable? Is it just a matter of keep using them?

Have to admit I've tried the in the in the ear ones many times and never got them to feel right. How long do you need to use them to have them feel comfortable? Is it just a matter of keep using them?

Glider -