What's new
What's new

sealed or shielded bearings in woodworking equipment

Bill D

Diamond
I bought a replacement bearing for my wood lathe today. Bearing salesman told me that almost all woodworking equipment that he sees uses shielded bearings instead of sealed. I always replaced with sealed to keep the grease in and the sawdust out. I figured the machines I have replaced bearings in were all older so they did not have good seals back then and used shields instead. Any thoughts on this?
Bill D.

If you have no provision for adding grease, then seals are a bit of a no-brainer. Any time you can eliminate foreign matter from entering the raceways, you add life to the bearing.

Bill, I'm a pro woodwhacker & I agree with your thoughts. Do the same myself. Unless there is an integral oiling system, bearings in woodworking machines often seem to fail from filling up with sawdust & glue rather than life hours. Portable routers are a good example, but the problem extends even to "industrial" type machines like saws & tenoners if the bearings are not fully enclosed.

smt

I seem to remember that when I replaced the bearings on my router, 20,000+rpm, they told me no seals at that rpm. I believe it uses felt seals to hold the grease in.
Bill D.

Generally, at high speeds, seals add considerable friction to the bearing causing premature failure. At high RPM's alternatives are employed to keep foreign matter out. At wood lathe speeds, seals will be fine. If you want the certainty of knowing yourself, find the bearing ID number and look up the data online. Or, if you've got an itch to add to your library, the SKF bearing handbook is worth the arm and leg.:D

Bill D