What's new
What's new

Tool Changing in general and on a SuperMax Rebel 1

hackish

Plastic
I'm new to the CnC gig. I bought a SuperMax Rebel 1 and discovered it is a basket case, so I have been repairing it piece by piece.

I've tried reading a lot of howto's on tool changers, but advice is always machine and control specific. Unfortunately my Meldas 520A control is not that common.

How would a machine know if there is a tool in the spindle or not? Do you always unload before shutting down? There are no sensors in the ATC to know if a lot is empty or occupied, and I don't think it can tell if the spindle is empty or not.

I also can't figure out how to load/unload it. Does one normally load the hat directly by hand, or do you manually insert them into the spindle, enter offsets, then have the ATC load it to the carousel, or is this also machine specific?

I've tried T01M6 in the MDI, then cycle start but it does nothing. Occasionally it gives error codes like incorrect axis or ATC failed but they aren't in my manuals. I have been finding and killing the electrical and mechanical problems, but this is hard to figure out if I am not commanding a tool change properly from the start.

2021-03-04 19.01.55-1.jpg One reason the ATC wasn't working... Fixed already, replaced all the hoses to it and tested movement manually with compressed air.

The ATC runs on air?
Isn't the umbrella carousel turned via a electric rotary actuator and moved under the spindle with a electric gear reduced swing arm?
Only the air-over-hydraulic drawbar needs air.

You may try the M6 before T01. It matters on the Fanuc control.