What's new
What's new

My Miniatures at Auction

rivett608

Diamond
Normally I don't tell much about sales of my miniatures but earlier this summer there was a auction of a major collection that contained about 10 of my pieces. I'm posting this for a number of reasons... First they took great photos of things I have never shown on the PM, second, this was very public and many people know of so I thought I would share it here. Third, it proves people will pay for quality or rare pieces.

I look at some of these things and think, my god, I was just a kid when I made this..... It also proves one of the "rules" in my shop..... Make sure each piece you do is better in some way than what you did before.. There is never good enough... And after 36 years at the bench I feel like I'm just starting to learn how to do things.....

The Adell Venus Collection of Miniatures | Maine Antique Digest

I would really like to see some photos of your work, please post!

Also, do you have any miniatures at the Sherline Museum?

Do a goggle image search for "rivett608 miniature"...... It will link to dozens of posts on the PM with details of how they are made.

No, I don't have anything at Sherline......

Amazing work. My dad a now retired phd chemist spent his evening hours building Queen Anne style furniture that he would not complete till every part was in his eyes perfect or as you mentioned better than the last. It was his way of dealing with the stress of his day job.
On a lowboy, he did the scroll/fan 5 times before satified with the outcome.
Keep improving your kraft, you seem to have achived a legacy while still at it

And the cost basis for the item you made a long time ago and sold for $$$ is.................?

Do a goggle image search for "rivett608 miniature"...... It will link to dozens of posts on the PM with details of how they are made.

No, I don't have anything at Sherline......

outstanding works of genius. if i had a millionth of your talent i would be pleased.