What's new
What's new

Weld Spec Help !!!!!

patrickpnw

Plastic
I have some experience with welding but not a lot of experience with welding specs and need some help.

I have a product that I am working on that requires some welding of 4130 steel tube and brackets and 6061 Aluminum formings. I would not consider the welds to be structural. I need to specify a weld spec of some sort to have control of the weld process. My company has used an Aerospace weld spec in the past for some flight test equipment (sorry I don't remember the spec number) but to weld to this spec requires welds to be welded by a certified welder and inspected by a certified weld inspector. Welding to this spec is expensive and my team has come to the conclusion that welding to this Aerospace spec for this project is not necessary.

My question is are there any basic weld specs that can be called out that are good for general welding applications that most shops conform to?

Example Tig Weld Per XXXXX using Filler Material XXXX

Are there any resources out there that I can use to find a spec that meets my needs or do I just need to start buying and reading the different specs?

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you

There are two different things you may be talking about here. The first is what standard you weld to. In your aerospace example, it may have been AWS D17.1. The "normal" spec for structural steel is either AWS D1.1 (for =<1/8" thick) or AWS D1.3 (for <=3/16" thick). The "normal" spec for aluminum is AWS D1.2. If you need something to put on a drawing that you're sending to a weld shop (as in your example) you would probably use one of these three.