What's new
What's new

Shop vac remote control

madsci

Plastic
I'm just a novice machinist, but I wanted to share my most useful machine shop innovation so far. I give you the remote controlled shop vac!

2015-06-11 10.43.49.jpg

Seriously, it's just a $20 RF remote control outlet (you can find them for $10) with the control taped to the end of the vacuum hose. I use it constantly and it saves a lot of running back and forth to the vacuum on the wall, which is tucked back between the milling machine and lathe and is hard to get to. Ridiculously useful for 30 seconds of installation work.

I'm just a novice machinist, but I wanted to share my most useful machine shop innovation so far. I give you the remote controlled shop vac!

View attachment 147078

Seriously, it's just a $20 RF remote control outlet (you can find them for $10) with the control taped to the end of the vacuum hose. I use it constantly and it saves a lot of running back and forth to the vacuum on the wall, which is tucked back between the milling machine and lathe and is hard to get to. Ridiculously useful for 30 seconds of installation work.

You can get them with muli channels also. I just installed a 2 channel in my house for some vent fans ( home made also because the off the shelf were noisy as hell and not easily adjustable) to move warm from the pellet stove in the living room to other rooms. You can turn one or the other or both on and off. Pretty neat and cheap 29 bucks for two channel, $49 for four channel.

Brilliant!
I just spent several days machining a trough in some 6061 bar stock that is going to be a front gate w/ glass panels.... must have worn out my lower back bending down to turn the shop vac on and off about 300 times....
Many thanks!