What's new
What's new

Tapping in copper

M2I

Plastic
I was having trouble with 4-40 cut taps breaking in copper i am a size up #42 to try and help but when it gets to the bottom it breaks, any advice would be helpful sfm is 30. I am running it in a hass vf2 with coolant

Im no expert with CNC apps but this sounds like a perfect application for a forming tap. Drill with #39 for a 70% thread. http://www.kar.ca/pdf/catalog/H4.pdf
When tapping copper I have found it useful to use just oil and with a small tap, to peck it so as not to built too big a chip in front of the cutting surface to break on retract. I am sure the experts will reply with the right solution, lets see what they say/

You are sure you have a good hold on the tap so that it isn't slipping?If the tap slips just even a little bit it is enough to lose the lead on the thread.

The right tapping fluid can make a world of difference also.Was years ago,but if memory serves we used a flavor of Tap Magic.

Also,COPPER FREAKING BLOWS to machine,I hate that gummy crap.
Went to work in a tool and die shop that machined a lot of copper,my first project with it was some sort of copper welding electrode.I went at it with an end mill like I would have in aluminum....part flew out the vise with chunks of my end mill across the shop :(

I use a good form tap with a tapmatic and keep it cold. (3/8" bus bar)
I run a spray mist on it and peck all the way out about every 2 diameters.
Use a slightly larger hole if possible.

This takes longer but is easier on taps.

If customer will allow it, go with a form tap. It's the only way to fly in copper. You might have to up coolant concentration or hit each hole with some strai

Welcome to PM.