What's new
What's new

Advice appreciated - buying CNC mill on the cheap

CrookedRiver

Plastic
Hey PM owners,

I'm starting my own shop and would very much appreciate your opinion on thrift-shop tier CNC mills.

Here's the situation: I recently became unemployed and have decided to strike out on my own. I have ten years' experience in CNC manufacturing, started as a button pusher and worked my way up to setting up/running/editing programs for a 9 axis millturn center doing military aerospace work. Got an engineering bachelor's degree and worked for two years as a manufacturing engineer for a major metal products company. No experience running a business but pretty good at designing parts and making chips. I'm relatively young and childless, wife can pay the household bills with her job so I think it's a good opportunity to take a swing at ownership. I have my own products which I wish to manufacture and sell, not interesting in job shopping. These are primarily milled parts. For turning purposes I have a Mazak QT10 lathe which I rebuilt in my spare time that is ready to go. I need to find a solution for CNC milling - I have a series 1 Bridgeport manual, but am under no illusions about my abilities as a manual machinist or ability to make parts competitively on a manual knee mill.