What's new
What's new

New to this Forum and just got a SB Heavy 10

fox32223

Plastic
Hi All!

I just picked up a early 1960's Heavy 10. Got lots of chucks and collets with it, and the taper attachment also was included. I am a complete novice to the heavy 10 so forgive me if these questions are silly.

1. It has a bracket that clamps on tot he ways that holds the collet tray, but is that the same bracket that the rod from the taper attachment attaches to? the diameter of the bracket (c-shape rod) is larger than the rod for the taper attachment, so is there a bushing missing or it a separate bracket that is missing?

2. The thread protector is missing, does anyone have a print on the OEM part? I found print for the 9A, but not the heavy 10. Weird thing about this is that they included the original South Bend Pin wrench for removing it!

3. Is that the original light that came from South Bend or is it something aftermarket? Trying to figure out if I should restore it or junk it.

4. WTB:

Steady Rest
Follower rest
Tail stock Wrench
Dogs for the face plates

If you have any of these, send me a PM, and no I won't pay the "eBay" price.

Thanks in Advance for any help you can provide!

FoxDSCF0289.jpgDSCF0282.jpgDSCF0283.jpgDSCF0293.jpgDSCF0295.jpg

Fox,