What's new
What's new

How to remove burrs created from tapping aluminum?

seanmoore

Plastic
Hi everyone,

Want to preface this question by stating I am not a machinist. I am a commercial photographer as well as a woodworker, so I have tools but none that are specific to machining metal.

I have a custom cut piece of 1/4" thick 6061 aluminum plate with a series of small holes (sized for a 1/4-20 tap) cut into it that will be utilized as a laptop plate for photography.

I have a basic tap set, and have started tapping the holes using the tap in a cordless drill. There are 100+ holes needing to be tapped so a drill is more efficient than a hand tap. The tap leaves a small burr on the front and back side of the aluminum plate.

What is the best way to remove this burr. I can hand file them down but that takes too long. I tried using a 5 sided countersink, the kind used in woodworking, but that didnt work. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

I get best results from a zero flute countersink - the ones with the hole through them. Use WD40 as a cutting lube. You're probably still going to need to hit it with a file lightly.

And what Plastikdreams said.

You can also use the countersink on the backside, just don't go as deep. If you try a few I think you'll find you don't need to do any post-tapping touch-up.

As above. Also, when you countersink a tapped hole you raise an additional burr. When you tap a hole that's already been countersunk, you get nice perfect threads with no burr that matters.

Hi everyone,

Want to preface this question by stating I am not a machinist. I am a commercial photographer as well as a woodworker, so I have tools but none that are specific to machining metal.

I have a custom cut piece of 1/4" thick 6061 aluminum plate with a series of small holes (sized for a 1/4-20 tap) cut into it that will be utilized as a laptop plate for photography.