What's new
What's new

Help ID vintage right angle milling head

chippinchunks

Aluminum
Hello all

I have a small benchmaster vertical mill that I use for light work. It works well for its small size but the milling head starts to make noise if I don't keep it filled with grease. I use high temp synthetic bearing grease because that's what the previous owner had been using. I grease the mill head through a zerk fitting on the top of the support shaft to lube it up. Usually after a couple pumps the rattling sound from the mill head goes away but after the mill head heats up it tends to throw the grease out through the bottom of the spindle. Soon after it starts making noise again. I was hoping to find some info on this milling head so I can determine the proper way to service and lubricate it but endless online searches have yielded nothing. I provided some pictures below of the milling head. It uses 1A or 3C collets (both seem to work fine) the only numbers I can see on the mill head are SG-135 other than that I'm not really sure how to ID this thing. I know it's not the original milling head for a benchmaster mill but this is how I bought it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Martin
l20190129_120551-1.jpg20190129_120539-1.jpg20190129_120609-1.jpg20190129_120701.jpg

Is it possible it is just a right angle gear box someone made into a milling head? To me it looks like it might be. Also it doesn't look too hard to take apart and explore. Find out if it has a bad seal, or what is making the noise. The end cover looks like it has instructions for adjustment.

Says 'Elevation clutch' right on it- sounds like a part related to aiming something? Have you tried tightening the clutch screw?

allan

Thanks for the input guys. I suppose it could be a gearbox of somekind. I haven't tried adjusting the clutch yet but i suppose I can try that 1st. If that doesn't work I'll tear it apart & see what I can do to keep the grease from coming out.

Thanks again
Martin