What's new
What's new

Can I clean a drill chuck?

music321

Plastic
I was over at my parents' place and was drilling slate with a masonry bit using my dad's favorite drill. It's an OK machine, but nothing to write home about. Unfortunately, it happens to have great sentimental value for him. In the course of drilling, I was hosing down the stone. This blasted water containing powdered stone onto the shaft of the bit. I didn't think anything of it, since no water was getting onto the chuck or drill. Well, the spinning of the bit drew the slurry into the chuck. Now, the chuck won't operate well since it has grit in it. What are my options for fixing this? Thanks.

If it is a standard key Jacobs type chuck they are fairly easy to take apart and clean. You can use a vise and a piece of pipe, even plastic should work, as a press to do it. Hardest part will probably be getting it off the motor.
Search for dissembling Jacobs chuck.
Bill D

I am no expert on taking drill chucks apart, but they do come apart. A picture of the chuck would help.

The ones that I am familiar with have a sleeve with gear teeth on the edge for the chuck key. This turns and raises or lowers the jaws. That sleeve is pressed on to a gear ring inside the chuck. To get the sleeve off, its pressed toward the opening end of the chuck. Once the sleeve is off, the chuck can be disassembled, cleaned and put back together. The jaws have to oriented correctly to close together.

Tom