What's new
What's new

Slip Roller from an industrial sign machine

Dragos28

Plastic
So I picked up this machine that was used by a street sign company. My intention is to use it as a sheet metal slip roller and my idea is to make twisted sheet metal art sculptures, sort of like what's in the picture just on a bigger scale.
Can anyone that has experience with a slip roller let me know if I'm close? I've never used a slip roller before.
The last video show the current state of the machine.
Thanks!

This is what it looked like when i got it
403096749_10231976759628261_1055513166674846111_n.jpg
and how it worked in its original configuration

as I was removing rollers and getting it setup to run sheet metal through it... or at least thats what i think lol

The current setup... and i'm not sure if maybe i am using the wrong type of material. this is weldable sheetmetal, i stuck a magnet to it. but it doesnt seem to take any shape or bends... any suggestions or recommendations would be welcomed.

And i'm sure i've mentioned it, but i've never used a slip roller before. my intention is to make art sculptures like this but on a bigger scale.

402917808_10231976759908268_7068136041435668739_n.jpg

All your videos are private and unable to be seen. As for the machine in the picture, it does not appear to be a slip roll like I’m used to. I have a Lown roller and it works great. What you have looks more like it’s used to straighten bent sheet prior to processing as in stamping.

Attachments

• IMG_3701.jpeg
    IMG_3701.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 3
is there any information on the rolls? Manufacturer name? To me, those look like very light duty straightening rolls for thin aluminum, not slip rolls. What is the horsepower? What are diameters of the rolls?